Public Holidays 2022

Australia Public Holidays 2022

This page contains a calendar of all 2022 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

Update: A one-off public holiday – National Day of Mourning for Her Majesty the Queen on 22 September 2022 (Thursday) has been announced.

1 JanSatNew Year’s DayNational
3 JanMonNew Year HolidayNational
5 JanWedDevonport CupTAS
26 JanWedAustralia DayNational
14 FebMonRoyal Hobart RegattaTAS
23 FebWedLaunceston CupTAS
1 MarTueKing Island ShowTAS
7 MarMonLabour DayWA
14 MarMonLabour DayVIC
14 MarMonCanberra DayACT
14 MarMonAdelaide Cup DaySA
14 MarMonEight Hours DayTAS
15 AprFriGood FridayNational
16 AprSatDay following Good FridayNational except TAS & WA
17 AprSunEaster SundayNational except SA & TAS
18 AprMonEaster MondayNational
19 AprTueEaster Tuesday *TAS
25 AprMonAnzac DayNational
2 MayMonLabour DayQLD
2 MayMonMay DayNT
30 MayMonReconciliation DayACT
6 JunMonWestern Australia DayWA
13 JunMonQueen’s BirthdayNational except QLD & WA
1 JulFriAlice Springs Show DayNT
8 JulFriTennant Creek Show DayNT
15 JulFriKatherine Show DayNT
22 JulFriDarwin Show DayNT
1 AugMonPicnic DayNT
10 AugWedEkka Wednesday *QLD
19 AugFriBorroloola Show DayNT
22 SepThuNational Day of Mourning for Her Majesty the QueenNational
23 SepFriAFL Grand Final FridayVIC
26 SepMonKing’s BirthdayWA
30 SepFriBurnie ShowTAS
3 OctMonLabour DayACT, NSW & SA
3 OctMonQueen’s BirthdayQLD
6 OctThuRoyal Launceston ShowTAS
14 OctFriFlinders Island ShowTAS
20 OctThuRoyal Hobart ShowTAS
1 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day *VIC
7 NovMonRecreation DayTAS
25 NovFriDevonport ShowTAS
24 DecSatChristmas Eve *NT, QLD & SA
25 DecSunChristmas DayNational
26 DecMonBoxing DayNational except SA
26 DecMonChristmas HolidayNT, SA & WA
26 DecMonProclamation DaySA
27 DecTueChristmas HolidayNational except NT, SA & WA
27 DecTueProclamation Day HolidaySA
27 DecTueBoxing Day HolidayNT & WA
31 DecSatNew Year’s Eve *NT & SA
Visit for the original release.

— South Australia and Northern Territory have a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Queensland has a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve from 6 pm to midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Blog Posts

join our Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter to enjoy free long weekend tips, inspirations, and more.