Public Holidays 2018

Australia Public Holidays 2018

This page contains a calendar of all 2018 public holidays for Australia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

1 JanMonNew Year’s DayNational
10 JanWedDevonport CupTAS
26 JanFriAustralia DayNational
12 FebMonRoyal Hobart RegattaTAS
28 FebWedLaunceston CupTAS
5 MarMonLabour DayWA
6 MarTueKing Island ShowTAS
12 MarMonLabour DayVIC
12 MarMonCanberra DayACT
12 MarMonAdelaide Cup DaySA
12 MarMonEight Hours DayTAS
30 MarFriGood FridayNational
31 MarSatDay following Good FridayNational except TAS & WA
1 AprSunEaster SundayACT, NSW, QLD & VIC
2 AprMonEaster MondayNational
3 AprTueEaster Tuesday *TAS
25 AprWedAnzac DayNational
7 MayMonLabour DayQLD
7 MayMonMay DayNT
28 MayMonReconciliation DayACT
4 JunMonWestern Australia DayWA
11 JunMonQueen’s BirthdayNational except QLD & WA
29 JunFriBorroloola Show DayNT
6 JulFriAlice Springs Show DayNT
13 JulFriTennant Creek Show DayNT
20 JulFriKatherine Show DayNT
27 JulFriDarwin Show DayNT
6 AugMonPicnic DayNT
15 AugWedEkka Wednesday *QLD
24 SepMonQueen’s BirthdayWA
28 SepFriAFL Grand Final FridayVIC
1 OctMonLabour DayACT, NSW & SA
1 OctMonQueen’s BirthdayQLD
5 OctFriBurnie ShowTAS
11 OctThuRoyal Launceston ShowTAS
19 OctFriFlinders Island ShowTAS
25 OctThuRoyal Hobart ShowTAS
5 NovMonRecreation DayTAS
6 NovTueMelbourne Cup Day *VIC
30 NovFriDevonport ShowTAS
24 DecMonChristmas Eve *NT & SA
25 DecTueChristmas DayNational
26 DecWedBoxing DayNational except SA
26 DecWedProclamation DaySA
31 DecMonNew Year’s Eve *NT & SA
Visit for the original release.


— South Australia and Northern Territory have a part-day public holiday for Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve from 7 pm to 12 midnight.
— Easter Tuesday is a restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.
— Ekka Wednesday is observed in Brisbane area only.
— Melbourne Cup Day is observed in all of Victoria unless alternate local holiday has been arranged by non-metro council.

Blog Posts

join our Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter to enjoy free long weekend tips, inspirations, and more.